International Classification of Diseases, 10th Revision

ICD-10 Complete Code Reference (2015)

ICD-10 Codes primarily consists of 2 parts shown below:

Clinical Modification

The diagnosis (DX) coding system developed by the CDC for use in all U.S. health care treatment settings. Diagnosis coding under this system uses 3–7 alpha / numeric digits & full code titles, but the format is very much the same as ICD-9-CM.

ICD-10-CM Codes

Procedure Coding System

The procedure coding system (PCS) was developed by the CMS for use in the U.S. for inpatient hospital settings only. The new procedure coding system uses 7 alpha or numeric digits while the ICD-9-CM coding system uses 3 or 4 numeric digits.

ICD-10-PCS Codes

When ICD-10-CM/PCS is implemented on October 1, 2015, it will not affect physicians', outpatient facilities', and hospital outpatient departments' use of CPT codes on Medicare Fee-For-Service claims. Providers should continue to use CPT codes to report these services.